Highasakite album announcement

11/13/13 3:30 pm | Posted By: Ane

Highasakite album announcement

We are proud to announce that Highasakite will be releasing their new album “Silent Treatment” Feb. 3 in Norway and March 4 in the rest of the world.
It’s been six months since Highasakite released their international debut EP “In and out of weeks” to international acclaim. Since then, recording in-between tours and numerous summer festivals, the band has readied the release of their full-length debut, Silent Treatment, due out on Feb 3rd (NO) and March 4th (ww)
First single, ‘Since Last Wednesday’ is out now, and its accompanying video, directed by Yngvild Sve Flikke, just premiered on NME.com. Watch it here.

While the band’s earlier songs were inspired by childhood and nostalgia, the theme of the new album focuses on the undercurrent that’s going on behind closed doors; the silent battles at home, and the longing to get away. It introduces a darker side to Ingrid Helene Håvik´s lyrics, but fans of her surrealistic, and often innovative views of the world won’t have to worry – it’s all there.

Earning “best new band” accolades from Pitchfork, NME, Paste, and even Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) at Oslo, Norway’s Øya Festival in 2012, Ingrid Helene Håvik (zither, steel drum, vocal), Trond Bersu (drums), Øystein Skar (synths), Marte Eberso (synths), and Kristoffer Lo (guitar) released their debut EP, In and out of weeks, this past spring, receiving high praise from SPIN, Paper, Interview, BrooklynVegan, MTV, Teen Vogue, and many more. Shortly after, they were nominated for a Norwegian Grammy as ‘Best Newcomer,’ and played their first ever shows in the US, including a week of break-out performances at SXSW.

The last year has seen Highasakite travel around the western hemisphere. After having toured Europe and the US, visiting Berlin Music Week, Iceland Airwaves, Eurosonic, The Great Escape, Tallinn Music Week, Reeperbahn Festival, Roskilde, SPOT festival and many more, the band are now ready to take on new challenges.

Silent Treatment Tracklisting

1. Lover, Where Do You Live?
2. Since Last Wednesday
3. Leaving No Traces
4. Hiroshima
5. My Only Crime
6. I, The Hand Grenade
7. Darth Vader
8. Iran
9. The Man On The Ferry
10. Science & Blood Tests